About the FLBM
The Finger Lakes Boating Museum exists for the education and preservation of the boating activities and boat building heritage of the Finger Lakes.
In 1996 a small group of dedicated antique boating enthusiasts, motivated in part by a common concern over the rapidly dwindling population of locally-built wooden boats, committed to establishing a museum that would preserve the boating heritage of the Finger Lakes Region of New York State. The museum founders, all active in the "antique boat world," felt that a museum focusing on the impact that recreational and commercial boating had on the development of the lakes and tourism in the Finger Lakes Region would increase appreciation and awareness as well as help preserve these vintage craft.
The Museum Collection has now grown to more than 200 boats built by many of the 40+ commercial builders identified to date as having built boats throughout the Finger Lakes Region during the last century. Boats built outside of the Finger Lakes Region are outside of the scope of the Museum's collection policy.
The museum currently has three floors of the historic former Taylor Wine Company's main building to explore with several exhibit spaces and a new wing renovated in 2015. Visitors can see canoes, rowboats, row outboards, outboard runabouts, inboards, hydroplanes, and sailboats. Many related artifacts and ephemera are also on display, including a 130' x 10' lake and nature mural and replica lake cottage. A 60' x 10' lake mural was also recently completed in the Inboard Motor Boat exhibit room. Our main building also contains an active boat shop where visitors are able to see restoration projects underway. Finger Lakes Boating Museum found its permanent home in 2014 on the South end of Keuka Lake just outside of the village of Hammondsport. The historic Taylor campus, 14 acres and 19 buildings, allows the museum to exhibit a good selection of the collection while maintaining room to expand in the future.
The main museum building, built in 1886, welcomes visitors from around the world. As you can see, the former Taylor Wine Company headquarters is beautiful and historic!
A steamboat display in the Steamboat room outlining the rich history of steamboats in the Finger Lakes
The newly remodeled Building 9 which holds the museums rowboats. Soon open to visitors!
DIRECTIONS | PARKING
We are located on Pleasant Valley Rd just outside the village of Hammondsport. Our building is across from Pleasant Valley Winery and has two large wooden arched doorways on the front. Our driveway is on the southern side of the main building. Follow the signs all the way up the hill and parking is provided at the back of the building where our main entrance is located.
8231 Pleasant Valley Rd
Hammondsport, NY 14840
KATHY VENEMA- President
PHIL WALKER- Vice President
LORRAINE MANELIS- Treasurer
DAVE BORNHOLDT- Secretary
JOSEPH MEADE IV
GEORGE LAWSON - Chair Newspaper President, Publisher Finger Lakes Media
CHRISTOPHER T. LYTLE - Vice Chair CTL Philanthropic Advisory
REBECCA HOPFINGER - Executive Director Antique Boat Museum
DICK SHERWOOD - Finger Lakes Chapter Antique & Classic Boat Society
JOHN (MICK) BARNES - Skaneateles Boat Company
GEORGE ZETH - Morehouse Boats
GLENDA GEPHART - Executive Director Schuyler County Historical Society
LEIGH TRINER - Hazlitt 1852 Vineyards
EDWARD VARNO - Past Director Ontario County Historical Society